Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Curriculum Lab: Award Books

The Lab provides students, faculty, staff, and the community educational resources and other materials.

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE E-RESOURCES FOR END-USERS

 

Login:  Username:  kysu.edu
             Password:  baseball#20
In addition, e-books are available through our WorldCat.  (online catalog)

 

By:  BWalter

INTRODUCTION TO SEARCHING THE WORLDCAT

SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG  101

Basic:  Searching in WorldCat Discovery 

https://youtu.be/aTxjH3DdNEw 

Advanced Searches in WorldCat Discovery 

https://youtu.be/qDRwVhfMVkI 

 

Praxis I and II Exams Study E-Resources via Learning Express, Inc. (KYVL) and Plus

 

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/center/learningexpresslibrary/adult-learning-center/home/build-your-math-skills

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/center/learningexpresslibrary/adult-learning-center/home/improve-your-writing-speaking-and-grammar

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/center/learningexpresslibrary/adult-learning-center/home/become-a-better-reader

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/learningexpresslibrary/libraryhome

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/center/learningexpresslibrary/hsequivalencycenter/home/build-your-basic-skills

https://www-learningexpresshub-com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/center/learningexpresslibrary/career-center/home/prepare-for-teaching-exams

Others:  https://www.mometrix.com/academy/praxis-ii/

https://www.test-guide.com/free-praxis-i-practice-tests.html

https://www.testprepreview.com/praxis-ii/health-physical-education.htm

https://www.pearson.com/us/higher-education/products-services-institutions/smarthinking/for-administrators.html?tab=subjects

 

Publishers Weekly:

https://best-books.publishersweekly.com/children/2020/#book/book-1

By. B Walter

Links: Lessons and Unit Plans for the School of Education

General:

http://www.teachers.net

https://www.teachervision.com/search/lesson%20plan%20format?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI54KUg_Op6gIVzZyzCh1P7wDDEAMYASAAEgKCwPD_BwE

http://www.education.ky.gov

http://www.ket.org/education/

https://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/lessons/

Professional:

http://www.education.ky.gov

https://kyvl.org/k12educators/teachers

http://www.ets.org

https://www.teachervision.com/teaching-strategies

Copyright and Fair Use in the Classroom:

http://www.loc.gov/teachers/usingprimarysources/copyright.html

https://tamuct.libguides.com/copyright

Children:  Elementary:

https://www.education.com/worksheets/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI8oaRpJms6gIVktbeCh1EzwzXEAEYASAAEgIPkvD_BwE

English and Literature:

https://www.lessonplanet.com/lesson-plans/language-arts

https://education.ky.gov/curriculum/conpro/engla/Pages/default.aspx

Health and Physical Education:

http://www.nea.org/tools/lessons/promoting-physical-fitness-K-5.html

http://www.nea.org/tools/lessons/promotingphysical-fitness-9-12.html

Languages:

https://www.lessonplanet.com/lesson-plans/languages

Mathematics:

https://www.lessonplanet.com/lesson-plans/teaching-math

https://www.kentuckymathematics.org/math_tools.php

https://mckellarmath.com/fun-links/

Music:

https://nafme.org/my-classroom/nafme-tps-curriculum-units-2014-music-responding-standards/

https://www.education.com/songs/

Science:

Websites are related directly to science standards and classroom implementation, some of which have e-lesson links/examples.

KDE Science website:

Next Generation Science Standards website:

Next Generation Science Standards example Units (elementary through high school):

5E Instructional Model websites:

BSCS (originators of the 5E model) -- includes example units in the Educator Resource Center

NASA:

Catlin Tucker (includes how to do 5E online):

Social Studies:

https://history.ky.gov/for-educators/educator-resources/

https://teachers.net/lessonplans/subjects/social_studies/

Special Education:

https://www.lessonplanet.com/lesson-plans/special-education

Visuals/Art:

https://www.coloring4all.com/

http://www.barrysclipart.com

https://www.teachervision.com/lesson-plans

Others:

https://mckellarmath.com/

http://www.nea.org/tools/back-to-school-guide.html

https://www.teachervision.com/lesson-planning/essential-resources

 

By:  Bobby Walter, Reference/Distance Education Librarian

 

PRAXIS I AND II EXAMS: ONLINE STUDY GUIDES / PRACTICE EXERCISES

 

E-books:

https://kysu.on.worldcat.org/search?queryString=kw%3A%28praxis%29+AND+%28x0%3Abook+%2B+x4%3Adigital%29+AND+%28yr%3A2010..2020%29&databaseList=1708%2C638&origPageViewName=pages%2Fadvanced-search-page&clusterResults=true&expandSearch=true&translateSearch=false&queryTranslationLanguage=&scope=wz%3A2163

http://web.a.ebscohost.com.kysu.idm.oclc.org/ehost/search/basic?vid=0&sid=b88c0ace-c290-4c00-b1c5-f71bd2ae27fc%40sdc-v-sessmgr03

KYVL online:  https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/learningexpresslibrary/libraryhome?aspxerrorpath=%2F

https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/learningexpresslibrary/college-center/search-results/Praxis%2520Core/0

FREE online e-resources:

Power-loaded tests interface:  https://www.test-guide.com/free-praxis-i-practice-tests.html

https://www.mometrix.com/academy/praxis-ii/

An option:

Distance education students can go to any “public”

library and any FoKAL (https://kysu.libguides.com/curriculumlab) institution within Kentucky and access the KYVL databases:  https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/learningexpresslibrary/libraryhome?aspxerrorpath=%2F

The public and academic librarians will be able to assist students with accessing the online Praxis resources via of Learning Express (KYVL).

Off-campus/remote access:

Students can access the Praxis I Exam mathematics exercises at:  https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/collection/learningexpresslibrary/register

Then, after they register, go to: https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/collection/learningexpresslibrary/search-results/praxis%2520I/0

KSU’s Thorobred Learning Center:

https://www.kysu.edu/student-success-and-retention/thorobred-learning-center/index.php

24/7 Online Tutoring:

https://www.240tutoring.com/

https://www.kysu.edu/student-success-and-retention/thorobred-learning-center/smarthinking.php

Library:

eBook Academic Collection

https://kysu.edu/academics/library/resources-and-more/

https://kysu.edu/academics/library/distance-learners-2/

·         Others:

·         Various Online Resources

·         Microsoft Learning Tools

Praxis II: 

https://www.learningexpresshub.com/productengine/LELIndex.html#/learningexpresslibrary/college-center/search-results/Praxis%2520Core/0

Register first athttps://www.learningexpresshub.com/ProductEngine/LELIndex.html#/collection/learningexpresslibrary/register

By:  BWalter

The Kentucky Department of Education Textbooks and Instructional Materials

Kentucky Department of Education Logo

https://education.ky.gov/curriculum/books/Pages/default.aspx

KDE: https://education.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

https://www.facebook.com/kydeptofed

The Kentucky Department of Education is a service agency of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The department provides resources and guidance to Kentucky's public schools and districts as they implement the state's K-12 education requirements. The department also serves as the state liaison for federal education requirements and funding opportunities.
Bobby Walter,  M.L.I.S.
Reference/Distance Education Librarian

Paul G. Blazer Library

bobby.walter@kysu.edu
cid:image001.png@01D471D9.D41B5530
                             Onward. Upward. Forward.

FoKAL Group Borrowing

One will have to go in person to the institution to borrow items or use their onsite electronic databases as a KSU student and faculty member.

FoKAL 

Kentucky State University, Blazer Library holds membership in the Federation of Kentucky Academic Libraries (FoKAL).  As a member, our faculty, staff and students have reciprocal borrowing and access to resources and materials that support the mission and programs of the FoKAL member institutions.  Reciprocal institutions have the right to limit access to some resources/services such as special collections, audio-visuals, and electronic databases requiring institutional passwords. Loan periods, rules and regulations, etc. are determined by the lending institution.

To register at member institutions, you will be required to show:

  • Your current institution's photo ID.
  • If your photo is not present on your ID, you must provide a second form of current photo identification.
     

 FoKal Institutions include:

Alice Lloyd College

Asbury College

Asbury Theological Seminary

Ashland Community and Technical College

Bellarmine University

Berea College

Big Sandy Community and Technical College

Bluegrass Community and Technical College

Bowling Green Technical College

Brescia University

Campbellsville University

Centre College

Clear Creek Baptist Bible College

Eastern Kentucky University

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College

Frontier School of Midwifery and Family Nursing

Gateway Community and Technical College

Georgetown College

Hazard Community and Technical College

Henderson Community College

Hopkinsville Community College

Jefferson Community and Technical College

Kentucky Christian University

Kentucky State University

Kentucky Wesleyan College

Lexington Theological Seminary

Lindsey Wilson College

Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Madisonville Community College

Maysville Community and Technical College

Mid-Continent University

Midway College

Morehead State University

Murray State University

Northern Kentucky University

Owensboro Community and Technical College

Pikeville College

S.E. KY Community and Technical College

Somerset Community College

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

Spalding University

Thomas More College

Transylvania University

Union College

University of Kentucky

University of Louisville

University of the Cumberlands

West KY Community and Technical College

Western Kentucky University

    By:  S. Stuckey & B. Walter